I received a new “notice” (see below) in the mail this week regarding one of my registered trademarks. A client contacted me who received one as well.  According to the solication, Official Registration, Inc. recommends recipients “take this registration which provides a notice to others that the above trademark/service mark is already taken.” And they offer to do so for a fee of $950! The logo of “Official Registration, Inc.” looks like a pseudo-official government “seal” and is another part of the attempt to mislead recipients.

A registered U.S. trademark is already a public record. It can be found in the trademark database at the USPTO website (www.uspto.gov). This ‘offer’ is a scam just like the many others that prey on trademark owners. Publication in this type of “registry,” assuming one even exists, is worthless and offers no legal protection and no value.

I hope the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) investigate this and other scams. And I hope that JP Morgan Chase Bank, N.A. which is listed for payment wiring instructions, dissociates themselves from this behavior.


offer from Official Registration, Inc.


Webpage from tm-register.com

webpage from www.tm-register.com

If you have been victim of one of these trademark registry scams, you may contact the FTC here: https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

Related posts:

Tip. Avoiding trademark and domain name scams

More trademark scams

New USPTO warnings to trademark filers

Share this blog post >

0 thoughts on “Beware of new trademark scam

  1. Thanks Erik. I just received one of these notices in the mail. $950.00!!! Are they insane? What a scam! Your post was more than informative and exactly what I needed to make sure that I file their paperwork properly … in the trash can.

  2. I received one as well. It looked and smelled like a scam and it is. I think the boy is being greedy at $950 that amount will turn heads. He should have gone for $295 or so.

    Anyway, I contacted Chase’s fraud department and forwarded them everything including a printout from CA Dept of Corporations.

    Entity Number: C3246905
    Date Filed: 05/27/2010
    Status: ACTIVE
    Jurisdiction: CALIFORNIA
    Entity Address: 5700 LOCHMOOR DR %23200
    Entity City, State, Zip: RIVERSIDE CA 92507
    Agent for Service of Process: DAVID B RAFF
    Agent Address: 104 EAST OLIVE AVENUE #201
    Agent City, State, Zip: REDLANDS CA 92373

  3. Our company received one of these exact same letters in the mail it never passed the odor test. They are just a publication service with what looks like an obscure directory. Their website clearly says they are not “official” however their mailings are very deceiving, they use the word official 5 times and the mailing address says Official Registration. Additionally, the format is similar to that of the trademark office mailings which you would receive. Normally, this would be considered creative marketing/advertising but when you are being asked to fork over $950.00 under the notion that it is relating your business’ trademark it is now just a clever ruse to get your money aka a scam!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *